MANILA, Philippines — University of the Philippines (UP) climbed from a 20-point hole and escaped De La Salle University (DLSU), 69-66, to defend its FilOil EcoOil Preseason Cup title at FilOil EcoOil Center on Wednesday.

The Fighting Maroons thus completed a 10-0 sweep of the tournament culminating in a wild finish against their UAAP Season 86 finals tormentors in the Green Archers.

A JD Cagulangan layup made it a 68-65 advantage for UP in the last 34 seconds of the preseason tournament's championship rematch.

Lian Ramiro pulled La Salle within two with a split of his charities before Francis Lopez brought the lead back to three with a split of his own with four seconds to go.

Henry Agunanne got the rebound off of Lopez's missed free throw and found Kevin Quiambao but his long distance three could not find the mark.

Cagulangan pumped 13 points, five rebounds, and four assists for UP while Lopez backstopped him with eight markers, 12 boards, and two blocks.

Gerry Abadiano chipped in 12 points in the Fighting Maroons' come-from-behind victory.

Quiambao and CJ Austria both logged 10 points to pace La Salle with the former adding 10 rebounds to his name.

Meanwhile, the FEU Tamaraws salvaged a bronze medal after fending off a tough-fighting Letran Knights team, 80-78.

Jorick Bautista dropped 21 points, three assists, and three rebounds as FEU made it an all UAAP-participating schools in occupying the podium of the tournament.

Vince Cuajao paced NCAA's Letran with 27 points, five rebounds, and three assists.

2024-06-12T13:23:25Z dg43tfdfdgfd